Canalys: Global PC market swells by 55% in Q1 2021 to 82.7 million

Shanghai (China), Bengaluru (India), Singapore, Reading (UK) and Portland (US) – Monday, 12 April 2021

The latest data from Canalys shows continued strength in the worldwide PC market in the first quarter of 2021, with shipments of desktops and notebooks, including workstations, up 55% year on year. Though this growth rate was buoyed by a weak Q1 2020, total shipments of 82.7 million units is still impressive, and the highest Q1 shipment number since 2012. Backlogs on orders from 2020, particularly for notebooks, were a key driver, though new demand is also a factor as smaller businesses begin their recoveries. Shipments of notebooks and mobile workstations increased 79% year on year to reach 67.8 million units. Desktops improved slightly at the start of 2021 after a string of poor quarters in 2020, with the level of shipment decline easing. Shipments of desktop and desktop workstations fell 5% year on year to 14.8 million units.

The strong recovery from a weak Q1 2020 saw all vendors in the top five achieve double-digit year-on-year shipment growth. Lenovo maintained pole position in the PC market, securing a 25% market share and posting year-on-year growth of 61%, with shipments of 20.4 million units. HP, spurred by strong Chromebook shipments, came second with total shipments of 19.2 million units, a 64% increase on Q1 2020. Dell lost market share against Q4, but took third place in the rankings, growing shipments 23% year on year to hit 12.9 million units. Apple and Acer made up the rest of the top five, shipping 6.6 million and 5.7 million units to enjoy the highest and second-highest annual growth respectively. Cumulatively, the top five vendors accounted for 78.5% of all PC shipments in Q1 2021.

Worldwide desktop, notebook and workstation shipments (market share and annual growth)
Canalys PC Market Pulse Q1 2021

Vendor (company)

Q1 2021
shipments

Q1 2021
market share

Q1 2020
shipments

Q1 2020
market share

Annual
growth

Lenovo

20,400

24.7%

12,702

23.8%

60.6%

HP

19,237

23.3%

11,701

21.9%

64.4%

Dell

12,948

15.7%

10,496

19.6%

23.4%

Apple

6,605

8.0%

3,219

6.0%

105.2%

Acer

5,690

6.9%

3,125

5.8%

82.1%

Others

17,795

21.5%

12,227

22.9%

45.5%

Total

82,675

100.0%

53,470

100.0%

54.6%

Note: Unit shipments in thousands. Percentages may not add up to 100% due to rounding.
Source: Canalys PC Analysis (sell-in shipments), April 2021

 

“The supply chain issue plaguing the industry is a good problem to have,” said Rushabh Doshi, Canalys Research Director. “As average prices rise due to the scarcity of internal hardware, innovation in design is triggering long-term changes to the way PC vendors approach supply and demand. Chipmakers, too, are now bullish about personal computing, and have increased their planned future investments to capitalize on the long-term opportunity. While the pandemic is not over just yet, there is light at the end of the tunnel. This is also spurring SMB investment in computing, which halted abruptly in 2020.”

“Despite the concerted efforts of the supply chain to ramp up production, Canalys expects the PC market to be supply-constrained for most of this year,” said Ishan Dutt, Canalys Analyst. “Adding to this, the potential for more black swan events to create even more disruption and uncertainty looms large. The hindering effect of shortages on countries’ economic revivals should be a wake-up call for governments to increase investment in semiconductor manufacturing.”

Note: Tablets (slates and detachables) are not addressed in this press release. Chromebooks are included as a subset of notebooks.

For more information, please contact:

Canalys China
Jason Low: jason_low@canalys.com +86 159 2128 2971
Nicole Peng: nicole_peng@canalys.com +86 150 2186 8330

Canalys India
Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +91 99728 54174
Jash Shah: jash_shah@canalys.com +91 74117 22710

Canalys Singapore
Ishan Dutt: ishan_dutt@canalys.com +65 8399 0487 
Himani Mukka: himani_mukka@canalys.com +65 8223 4730

Canalys UK
Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 7824 114 350
Kelly Wheeler: kelly_wheeler@canalys.com +44 7919 563 270

Canalys USA
Marcy Ryan: marcy_ryan@canalys.com +1 650 862 4299
Brian Lynch: brian_lynch@canalys.com +1 503 927 5489

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please contact us. Alternatively, you can email press@canalys.com.

 

Please click here to unsubscribe

 


Copyright © Canalys. All rights reserved.


 

 

For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com

 

PDF download

 Canalys: Global PC market swells by 55% in Q1 2021 to 82.7 million

 


Share this article